Why I eat chocolate!

Let me introduce myself and tell you why I eat chocolate. I am a mommy of three. Three girls under the age of 6. I am fortunately lucky enough to be a stay-at-home mommy. Those of you that are also “fortunate enough” to be stay-at-home mommies, know where I am coming from when I say “fortunately lucky enough”. Now don’t get me wrong, I love my girls! I love my husband! I wouldn’t change anything about that part of my life. I’m not going to lie and say that I am the “worlds best mother/houskeeper/wife” but I get the job done! I make sure my girls are cared for, dressed, fed and bathed. I make sure my husband gets to work on time and wearing clothes that are not wrinkled and a hot meal for him when he comes home for lunch and dinner. I see to it that their needs and wants are met. Where I fall short is making sure all of my needs are met. Now don’t get me wrong I don’t  “go without”  when it comes to most things. I don’t go hungry or anything like that. In fact some would say that I am spoiled.  Where I fall short is making sure I make time for myself. For the things that I want to do. So when I asked myself “What do you want to do?” I didn’t really know how to answer. I had to think about it. Now I have to tell you about my grandmother. She is a wonderful catholic woman and mother of 7. Yes 7. Her oldest started college the same year that her youngest started kindergarten (my mother is number 3 on that list). She told me once that my Uncle C. used to be able to climb a flat wall. That would stress the patience of even a saint like my grandmother. One day I asked her how she got through all those years of raising so many kids (without loosing her mind) when I struggle with  raising just 3. Her reply was “I used to hide in the bathroom and eat chocolate.” Hmmm I thought, I can relate. So back to my question, “What do I want to do?”,  I began thinking, what can I do that would save my sanity? I figured I needed to find my “chocolate” and my “bathroom”. Enter Dove Chocolate Discoveries (aka. my chocolate) yes I know my “chocolate” was just that, chocolate! But my “bathroom” is tasting parties with girlfriends where I get to share chocolate, let my hair down, spend time away from kids, make a little money and yes, save my sanity. That may not sound like what you would want to do with your “free time” but it works for me.  Now whatever your  “chocolate” is and wherever your “bathroom” may be, you need to escape from your mommy/wifey world and take care of your needs. 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Alisa
    Aug 21, 2011 @ 11:54:35

    I am a stay at home mom of 2 girls, 2 and 4. I understand exactly what you are talking about here!! My husband desperately wants a son, but I sometimes wonder if I can remain sane enough for 3 children!! lol! I think i’m going to go have some chocolate! 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

