A new year!

Well a new year is about to begin. Yes, I know it is September not January but a new school year! ugh Now this isn’t our first year of school for my oldest but it is the first year she is attending all day!!!Which means that this is the first year that we will not be eating lunch as a family!(at least it is only 4 days a week, since they shortened the school week here) We are lucky, you see. Daddy is able to come home for lunch almost everyday, and we eat our lunch together as one big family! I know most people are not lucky enough to get to enjoy this special treat, but we really lucked out. This year though, it is all changing. I don’t know if I really like this! Eating our lunch without our P.A. an uncomfortable feeling! She having to eat her lunch with strangers! poor thing! So I got her, her own insulated lunch bag personalized just for her (from Thirty-one) and some reusable food baggies (from a local craft vendor) So I can send her homemade lunch with her! Knowing that she will be able to enjoy the food she is used to eating, makes me feel a little better! Of course that opens up a whole new thing! This will also be the start of P.A. seeing all the things that other kids have in their lunches! Like the dreaded lunchables! and candy and fruit snacks and twinkies and juice and whatever else people send their kids to school with, that as of yet my children don’t even know exist! How can I compete with all that? How do I answer the question of “Why cant you buy me that?” Do I say “Because I love you!” “Because I would rather just give you a bowl of sugar and some lard!” So a challenge has begun! I have asked other moms about what they send with their kids and looked over lots of website/blogs. I have put together a calendar listing what I am going to send with P.A. for lunch. That way I am not in a last minute crunch! So some of you may say that I have over thought this but thats how I work! After all being prepared for these kinds of things is just another day in the life of a mom.

List of lunch ideas!!!
-Celery w/real peanut butter
-Mixed nuts
-100% all natural fruit leather
-homemade breads (zucchini, banana)
-pretzels
-black beans( my girls love them)
-homemade lunchable(crackers/triscuits, real meat, real cheese(not that over processed stuff)
-tuna and crackers (home canned albacore tuna-yep we are spoiled)
-homemade stews and soups
-fruit (fresh and raisins)
-veggie sticks w/dip
-hard boiled egg
-peas and sliced steamed carrots w/brown rice
-cheese quesadillas
-leftovers!!!
-homemade jello (unflavored gelatin with added fruit and 100% juices)
-real peanut butter sandwich w/100% real fruit spread
-homemade breaded chicken strips w/dip (all natural chicken strips breaded and baked)
-mini pizza(english muffin, homemade pizza sauce, cheese, sausage, olives)
-chicken and rice w/peas
-wraps
-yogurt(plain w/added honey and fresh fruit)

Please feel free to share any healthy lunch ideas you have!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. clothes4cures
    Sep 15, 2011 @ 08:40:26

    I can identify with this post. I have children in school and one child that is home schooled. I have just now begun to be more aware of what I am buying from the grocery store. I am trying to at least buy things that are a little healthier for my kids and me. 🙂

    Reply

    • Just another day in the life of a mom
      Sep 15, 2011 @ 21:53:21

      It is hard to fight the temptation of all the yummy junk food! But the only way it is going to get in this house is if I buy it and bring it home! So I figure I have to fight for my family! Now I personally don’t attempt to keep ALL unhealthy food out, I mean we are human! But moderation is key! So good for you! it is hard to fight for you family! Your family will thank you!

      Reply

  2. Tiffany DeOs
    Sep 15, 2011 @ 20:43:37

    My goodness you are a healthy momma! We are trying to be healthier around here because my hubby and I need to lose weight. We are making small changes. I only have to make lunch three times a month since we homeschool and only need it for co-op days but I think I’ll be using your healthful ideas for those lunches!

    Reply

    • Just another day in the life of a mom
      Sep 15, 2011 @ 21:59:32

      LOL well I don’t know if I would say we are too healthy! but I try! There are a lot of tempting things out there and on occasion I give in a little! Now that said there are something’s I will not buy!! But we are not missing out! For the most part my girls are so young still that they don’t know any different because they have never had that other stuff! so it makes it a little easier. You as Mama have to fight for you family because no one else is going to! It may be a struggle now but your family will thank you! I have a felling that you make lunch everyday! lol but I know what you mean! Glad I could share some ideas! I am always on the hunt for new ones!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

